Testimonials

We’re proud to have been given several prominent awards including Booking.com, Travellers’ Choice 2021 and an 8/10 rating from the Telegraph Travel Destinations expert ratings We’re also delighted to have been given such high recommendations from our guests over the years.

We have lots of warm and pleasant memories of our recent stay with. It was Rich’s 87th birthday celebration with his brother Derek and his wife Hazel. We spend time with them as often as we can. Staying with them at The Dower House Hotel was special. We enjoyed the warm welcome and Happy “Good Mornings” each day. Being able to have a place to play cards was an added bonus as we always enjoy playing cards together. The ambiance in the “pub like room” was just perfect for us all. Thank you again for your attention to detail and the lovely little extras in our room and around the Manor House. We loved all the special details at
your hotel which we found to be very comfortable and friendly. The breakfasts were first class and we both especially enjoyed having fresh berries every morning as well as the full English – what a treat.

It was wonderful to spend time with Derek and Hazel who live in Suffolk and we live in Victoria British Columbia Canada. Hopefully we will be able to repeat our next visit to England at the Dower House with Derek and Hazel.
Time is special as we age and making such happy memories become more and more important. Thank you so much for the wonderful time we had at the Dower House. Hazel and Derek also enjoyed it too.

Best Wishes to you both and we hope that you enjoy your special trip and time away this coming winter.

Sincerely Rich and Iris Wood

We think of you often and of the hard work you both have put into making such a happy welcoming place for visitors. We hope to come again in the not too distant future.

Dower House Hotel9.6RECOGNITION OF EXCELLENCE 2022
Aimee C
Aimee C
2023-10-15
Perfect romantic getaway Beautiful from start to finish!! Neil and Rosemarie are absolutely amazing hosts from the moment you walk through the door on arrival to the moment you leave! As a fellow housekeeper myself The rooms are stunningly clean and smelt lovely and fresh, The bed was lovely and comfortable, everything was buffed up and shining. Attention to detail was 10/10 little shower gels , shampoo and conditioner not to mention the coffee machine which was taken full advantage of. The fresh milk outside your door was a fantastic touch. quiet bar area, the ground of the house is breathtakingly beautiful with very interesting history. The breakfast was delicious, everything was cooked perfectly and you wasn’t waiting long at all. We would 100% recommend and We are 100% coming back to visit. Thank you so much for having us. Aimee and Ben
Anthony S
Anthony S
2023-09-22
Wow. What a superb place! Warm welcome, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, especially as it was 70 years ago that I was here for my first term at Allhallows School and this was the Headmasters House. Excellent facilities and comfort. One of the best places we have ever stayed.
Robert B
Robert B
2023-09-22
Very enjoyable time at the Hotel Our room was great ( with en-suite) . Very dog friendly ( we took our dog).Breakfast menu very varied and good. The owners were very helpful with advise, if asked , about local places to visit, where to have meals and local facilities . All in all they were very welcoming. My wife had I had a very good 5 day stay. We can definitely recommend this place
Barbara T
Barbara T
2023-09-21
Lovely central place to stay. Host & hostess very friendly and welcoming. All staff extremely pleasant. Perfect location for visiting various seaside areas and for walking. Would highly recommend this place and would happily stay there again.
Mark&SandraHammond
Mark&SandraHammond
2023-09-15
Perfect retreat. Needed a couple of nights away, after a traumatic last two months. Neil and Rosemarie really are the perfect hosts, and any negative comments on here, are either from people that can't tell the difference between officious and efficient, people that don't do any research, either on the area, or indeed the hotel itself, or others who cancel at a moment's notice and expect to be refunded. They were so accommodating, in that while every service, item etc might not be at your finger tips, Neil & Rosemarie would immediately provide what was required. It takes a lot to run a successful hotel, we know of quite a few that have closed or get bad reviews, so they know exactly how to treat their guests, basically giving them what they would expect themselves in a similar establishment. Everything was spotless, and the fridge on the landing with fresh milk, is a great idea. The dog exercise area, and the gorgeous gardens are wonderful. At night, it's perfectly quiet, great for a well earned sleep. The hotel is positioned within a few miles of many destinations that appealed to us, so again, anyone complaining about that should perhaps stay in central London! The other guests, many either dog owners or dog lovers, were all great, without exception, in fact, the wonderful breakfast were continually 'interrupted' by fellow guests wanting to chat, mostly to our Bearded Collie, Maebel. We will be staying here for certain, possibly late spring, around the time when we hope to have another puppy, as this hotel is positively dog and people, friendly. Thanks for a great un-wind.
Karl-Hermann W
Karl-Hermann W
2023-09-15
Außergewöhnlich gut geführtes,gepflegtes Hotel Ich habe dort 2 Nächte übernachtet. Es ist ein ausserordentlich gepflegtes Haus/Anwesen. Service ist ausserordentlich liebenswürdig,man kümmert sich um jede Kleinigkeit. So,als sei man der einzige Gast. Man fühlt sich ausserordentlich gut aufgehoben. Zimmer sind gepflegt,großzügig,ruhig. Danke für die ausserordentliche Gastlichkeit Karl-Hermann
Mandy
Mandy
2023-09-10
Such welcoming hosts What a nice time we had here! We booked a short break in the hotel, and we loved it. The hosts are super welcoming and helpful, which makes you feel like coming home to your family for a stay. We were only there for a couple of nights, but they remembered our names from the beginning and made us feel at home. The facilities are great, and the room (d’élite quite small) had everything you need. Really loved our stay and will certainly come back and recommend to family and friends.
Pippa C
Pippa C
2023-09-06
Mini break visit. Third visit to this lovely dog friendly bed and breakfast and the welcome is wonderful from Neil and Rosemary. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed and large ensuite. Nothing was too much trouble from a Sunday night Pub recommendation and drinks on the terrace as well as opening up the swimming pool. The breakfast was superb and a doggie sausage for our small dog. Next time we will stay longer than 2 nights. Many thanks to Neil and Rosemary and their team. We will be back.
giraffe99
giraffe99
2023-09-06
Sublime Where to start? May I simply endorse the fulsome praise you will see submitted by other recent guests. We enjoyed two nights at this splendid hotel and came away feeling we'd benefitted from a long holiday: marvellous hosts and staff, glorious home-from-home atmosphere in splendid surroundings; everything about the Dower House is wonderful. Highly recommended is the Austen Room: sumptuous, with the MOST comfortable bed! Thank you, we look forward to returning.
Delboylin
Delboylin
2023-08-21
A hotel run with love and pride - and justifiably so! Often, what makes the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel is not always the buildings, the facilities or the number of staff etc, although The Dower House Hotel definitely does not fall down on any of these measures. Often it is the people that run and work in it that makes all the difference, and we really felt the genuine love, pride, and effort that is put into running this excellent hotel. From the moment we walked in to when we left, we could not have felt more welcome by the staff or the owners. We stayed there as part of a road trip along the south coast, staying in six hotels in a week, most of them more expensive than The Dower House Hotel and this was the one that really stood out for us. Other than that, the king-sized bed was the most comfortable we stayed in, and the size of the room was more than big enough to install a spare bed for our son. It was an extremely comfortable stay and we will definitely stay here again next time we visit the area. Thanks again for the wondering experience and warm welcome and service!